Orange Thyme Chicken Thighs

My oldest daughter once told me that she thought it was the coolest thing that I have my own “homemade” cookbook.  It’s just a three ring binder with recipes that I’ve cut out or copied, pasted onto pages.  This recipes was one of the first ones that I pasted into the book, but unfortunately, I don’t remember where it came from.  Either way, it’s been a family favorite for years.

Orange Thyme Chicken Thighs

Ingredients

  • 08 chicken thighs – I prefer to use those with skin for this recipe
  • 03 C orange juice
  • 02 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/4 C pure maple syrup
  • 02 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Drizzle thighs with olive oil, season with salt and pepper.
Cook chicken for 20 minutes.
Meanwhile, bring orange juice and thyme to boil and continue to cook for about 20 minutes, until reduced to about 1/2 cup, stirring occasionally.
Add maple syrup and soy sauce to orange juice mixture and continue to boil for 03 – 04 minutes.

Flip chicken and spoon mixture over top.
Continue to cook for 10 more minutes.
Flip chicken again, spoon more orange juice mixture over top and continue cooking another 05 minutes or until chicken is done.

Note

I like to broil the chicken, skin side up, for the last 05 minutes to crisp up the skin.

Comment

