Carrot and Raisin Slaw with Homemade Poppy Seed Dressing

I remember eating carrot and raisin salad as a kid. Seems like whenever there was a pot luck at church or some other gathering, someone always brought it. While I liked it, I was never really crazy about the pineapple and mayo version. I actually forgot about this dish, as it’s been years since I’ve had it.  Awhile ago, I saw a recipe for it on Pinterest.  Tonight, I decided to make my own, modified version.

Carrot and Raisin Slaw with Home Made Poppy Seed Dressing

Ingredients

  • 04 carrots, grated
  • 3/4 C raisins
  • 1/4 C chopped pecans
Dressing
  • 1/4 C. mayonnaise
  • 02 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. dijon mustard
  • 01 Tbsp. poppy seeds
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Carrot and Raisin Slaw with Homemade Poppy Seed Dressing Prep

Directions

Combine dressing ingredients and whisk until sugar dissolves. Refrigerate.

Soak raisins in a bowl of warm water to plump.
Grate carrots.

Place carrots, raisins and pecans in a bowl.
Add dressing and stir to combine.

Carrot and Raisin Slaw with Homemade Poppy Seed Dressing Plated

Comment

