Unorthodox Hot and Sour Chicken Soup

The past few weeks I’ve been craving hot and sour soup. I got some from the local Chinese restaurant about a week ago, but it just didn’t satisfy my taste buds. I had some boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the fridge that needed to be used up before they spoiled, so I decided to turn them into soup. I didn’t have many of the typical ingredients that go into hot and sour soup, so I did what I usually do, I made it up using what I had on hand.

Unorthodox Hot and Sour Chicken Soup

Ingredients

Chicken
  • 01 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • sesame oil
  • kosher salt
  • cayenne pepper
  • olive oil
Broth
  • 04 C. chicken stock
  • 01 C. water
  • 1/2 Tbsp. ginger
  • 02 Tbsp. minced garlic
  • 03 Tbsp. soy sauce (adjust to your tastes)
  • 01 Tbsp. sesame oil (adjust to your tastes)
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 01 Tbsp. lemon juice (or lime juice)
  • 01 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 01 tomato, chopped
  • 01 onion, chopped
  • 03 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 02 Tbsp. corn starch

Directions

Clean chicken and cut into chunks.
Drizzle with sesame seed oil.
Season with kosher salt and cayenne pepper.
Massage to coat chicken with oil and seasoning.
Let set for about five minutes.

Meanwhile, add broth ingredients to a pot and bring to a slight boil.

While broth is cooking, heat some olive oil in a pan.
Add chicken and cook about five minutes, until chicken is just cooked through.
Reduce heat on the broth, add chicken and pan juices and simmer for about 1/2 hour, stirring occasionally.

Whisk together vinegar and corn starch and pour into soup, stirring occasionally, until thickened, about three minutes.

Note

I would have preferred to use lime juice in place of the lemon juice. I also would’ve added mushrooms if I had them, and possibly some cabbage… maybe even some tofu, as I do like it in Oriental soups.

Comment

