Sweet Island Chicken

When my gramma died back in 1992, I inherited some of her cookbooks. One of them was a book put together by the members of the Lutheran church in Minnesota that my aunt and uncle attended when they lived there in the Seventies. Over the years, the book has disappeared, and all those tasty recipes I used to make had been forgotten.

Alas, we now have the internet! I came across one of my favorites from the book the other day. Here it is:

Sweet Island Chicken

Ingredients

  • 06 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (breasts work also)
  • 01 C Catalina salad dressing
  • 01 C apricot preserves
  • 01 package onion soup mix
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 C water

Directions

Combine salad dressing, preserves and onion soup mix in a bowl. – I like to let the mixture set for at least ten minutes to make sure all the dry soup mix has dissolved, and to let the flavors incorporate.
Clean chicken and cut into pieces.
Pour dressing mixture over the chicken to coat.

Sweet Island Chicken Prep

Heat some olive oil in a pan on medium high.
Add coated chicken to the pan and sautee for three or four minutes, stirring occasionally.
Flip chicken pieces, add water and continue to cook until the chicken is cooked through, about five minutes, stirring frequently to prevent the sugars from burning.

Sweet Island Chicken - Pan

Note

This is a very sweet dish. I think next time I make it, I will add a little hot sauce to the mixture first!

I had some leftover dressing, so I used it to slather onto the chicken legs I broiled the next night!

Sweet Island Chicken - Legs

Comment

