Pea and Peanut Salad Deluxe

When I was a kid, my dad’s favorite vegetable was peas. I don’t know about you, but I couldn’t stand peas as a kid! Since they were dad’s favorite, we had them a few times a week for dinner, and growing up poor in the 70’s, we weren’t allowed to leave the table until everything on our plate was gone… and we didn’t have a dog to sneak our food to!

There was one pea dish my parents made for our family barbecues that I actually liked… peas and peanuts.  My version here is fancier than what they made, and it’s oh so yummy. I ate half a bowl last night!

Oh, please excuse my fuzzy photo. My camera broke the other day so I had to borrow my Honey’s and I’m not so used to it yet. No worries, I have a new, fancy camera on the way!

Pea and Peanut Salad Deluxe

Ingredients

01 12 oz. package frozen peas – defrosted
3/4 C dry roasted peanuts
1/2 C shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 C onion, chopped

Dressing

1/2 C Miracle Whip
02 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
1/2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
02 Tbsp. sugar

Directions

Combine the Miracle Whip, vinegars and sugar in a bowl until sugar has dissolved.
Place remaining ingredients in a bowl and pour dressing over top.
Stir to coat.
Chill.

Comment

